I woke up this morning with really awful cramps from my period (or as my best friend tells me they call it in Japan, “girl’s day.”  Much cuter!) and didn’t really feel like doing anything at all.  It took me until 1:00 just to go get a shower!  During my wallowing, though, I got a craving for chocolate cookies or something like that.  I started thinking of what we had here at Nick’s place, and I didn’t think we had enough ingredients left to make chocolate chip cookies, but we still had a bunch of random ingredients left that we need to use before we move on Thursday.  We’ll be tight on space, so I don’t think we’ll want to have to pack things like a half a bag of sugar, or a fourth a bag of flour.  Unfortunately, I knew we didn’t have any cocoa powder to make any super chocolatey baked goods.  But after I thought about it for a minute, I realized we had tons of hot cocoa mix and about half a contianer of chocolate Nesquik!  I found a great recipe for Nesquik brownies that was just perfect for the amount of ingredients we had left.  Nick was super helpful and did dishes while I worked on the brownies, and then helped with the brownies too =)

I wasn’t sure how long to cook them since the oven here is pretty unpredictable, but they turned out with a really nice consistancy!  I think if I make them again I’ll add a little bit more chocolate than the recipe calls for.  As they are, it’s a really nice balance of chocolateyness, but I love really strong chocolate stuff so I’d add more =)  The blogger who posted the recipe mentioned a way to melt sugar on top to make a shiny top, but I didn’t bother with that.  Instead, mine had a weird sort of skin on top that deflated after a while, haha, but it was totally fine-tasting =)  These turned out sooo great and they were just what I needed!  I never would have thought Nesquik could make such a good brownie!

They may not look like much, but they're delicious!

They may not look like much, but they're delicious!

You can find the original recipe here, but I’ll re-post it for convenience!

Nesquik Brownies

2/3 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
6 tablespoons unsalted butter
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 tablespoon water
1 large egg
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
3/4 cups NESTLÉ NESQUIK Chocolate Flavor Powder
1/3 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350° F. and line an 8 inch metal pan with foil; spray foil with cooking spray.

Stir together flour, baking powder and salt. Set aside.

In a medium size (3 quart is good) microwave safe mixing bowl, melt butter for 1 minute on high. Quickly stir in sugar and water, then microwave mixture for 30 seconds to help melt sugar. Stir and let stand for about 3-5 minutes. Add vanilla and egg and stir until mixed. Stir in Nesquik, then add flour mixture and stir just until smooth. Fold in chocolate chips. Rap pan on counter to bring air bubbles to top.

Bake for 18 minutes. Let cool completely on a wire rack. Chill for an hour or so, then lift from pan and slice into 12 brownies.

Makes 12 brownies

